AATCC Announces the 2022 Concept 2 Consumer® Student Design Competition Winners

AATCC Announces the 2022 Concept 2 Consumer® Student Design Competition Winners

RTP, NC, May 24, 2022 – Every year, students from all over the world participate in AATCC’s Concept 2 Consumer® Student Design competition. This competition is a poster competition that allows students the opportunity to showcase their creative design and problem-solving skills in textile/apparel design.  Each year there is a different theme, this year’s theme asked students to design a sustainable travel wear line that incorporated recycled materials, sustainable manufacturing, and antibacterial and/or odor-control properties.

First Place

This year’s first-place winner is Seasons of Citrus which is a sustainable reversible multi-season travel line made by fruit made by Mail Jean Borisch who attends Kendall College of Art and Design at Ferris State University. Borisch is a Fashion Studies major set to gradate in Fall 2023. She says, “Designing for this competition has helped me understand how in-depth design should be and taught me that I really like science. I plan to continue studying fashion with a strong emphasis on designing with sustainably and further learning about the textile sciences.” Borisch was awarded:

  • US$1,000 from AATCC
  • Pantone Cotton Passport and Color of the Year (COY) mug
  • US$300 Spoonflower Gift Certificate and Spoonflower DIY Book Bundle
  • US$200 Jacquard Inkjet Fabric Systems gift certificate to obtain prepared for dyeing (PFD) fabric
  • Datacolor ColorReaderPRO
  • One-year free AATCC Student Membership

Second place

This year’s second-place winner is Flow Adaptive which is designed for any person of any gender who is looking for wheelchair adaptive clothing that is comfortable enough for travel, has a modern style, and unique designs by Sofia Morin who is a student at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

Morin says, “Through this competition, I learned about the importance of representation in fashion. Designing wheelchair adaptive clothing has given me a better perspective of the fashion industry as a whole and what changes need to be made to make it more inclusive.

I plan on graduating from the University of Wisconsin-Stout with my BS in Apparel Design & Development and minor in Metals & Contemporary Art Jewelry. After graduation, I want to travel and continue my education in a fashion master’s program.” Morin was awarded:

Third place

This year’s third-place winner is The Stories of Ooru which is a travel wear line designed with the intention that a person traveling to India is ready for every occasion by Nina Sajankila from Drexel University where she is currently pursuing a Master of Science in Fashion Design.

She says, “Participating in this competition made me think more about cultural differences while traveling and how I can mindfully invite the sharing and blending of cultures through design.

I plan to pursue sustainable and ethical design, while working internationally and learning from artisans who focus on the slow and thoughtful ways of exploring fashion for high-end design.” Sajankila was awarded:

Runway of Dreams Scholarship

This year Runway of Dreams Foundation provided students with the option to focus their design entry on adaptive fashion. One outstanding entry that incorporated designs for people with a disability was selected for US$2,500 scholarship award.

Lacertilia by Tiffany Liao, Thomas Jefferson University will be awarded this scholarship.

She says, “This competition has reinforced the phrase coined by Louis H. Sullivan, ‘form follows function.’ It was a fun challenge learning about adaptive fashion and determining the functionality of each item.

I hope to use my experience in design and engineering in the antidisciplinary world of “fashioneering” where human behavior, cultural advances, and societal needs influence wearable and functional design. (I basically want to be Edna Mode from “The Incredibles.”).”

Developers, Judges, and Sponsors

AATCC would like to extend thanks and appreciation to the following developers, judges, and sponsors. Without their expertise and assistance, the competition would not have been possible.


  • Sandra Johnson, Senior Account Manager at Color Solutions International
  • Nora Khanna, Product Development Manager at Pantone
  • Kerry King, Vice President, R&D at Spoonflower Inc.
  • Muditha Senanayake, Professor at Cal Poly Pomona
  • Alyssa McNamara, Project Manager at Spoonflower Inc.


  • Lisa Beck, Product Manager at Datacolor
  • Emily Coleman, Designer and Merchandise Manager at Jefferies Socks
  • Josh Goldman, Technical Designer at Nike
  • Yvonne Johnson, Senior Director: Product Development at Cotton Incorporated
  • Riho Katagiri, Lead Technical Designer at Nike
  • Lauren Koury, E-commerce Specialist at Carolina Hosiery Mills
  • Aimee LaValley, Product Development Manager at Polartec
  • Mindy Scheier, Runway of Dreams Foundation
  • Carrie Yates, Associate Director, Knit Product Development at Cotton Incorporated






About AATCC: AATCC is the world’s leading not-for-profit association serving textile professionals since 1921. AATCC, headquartered in Research Triangle Park, NC, USA, provides test method development, quality control materials, and professional networking for members in about 50 countries throughout the world.

Contact Information

Company: AATCC