The Textile Association (India) Awards Seshadri Ramkumar, Ph.D., Honorary Membership

The Textile Association (India) Awards Seshadri Ramkumar, Ph.D., Honorary Membership

Lubbock, Texas, December 13, 2022 – The Textile Association (India) one of the world’s largest professional associations in the fiber to fashion supply chain with over 25,000 members is pleased to award Seshadri Ramkumar, Ph.D., CText, FTI (UK), FTA [Honorary] (India), TAPPI Fellow (USA), Professor, Nonwovens & Advanced Materials Laboratory, Texas Tech University, with its highest award, “HONORARY MEMBERSHIP,” for 2023, for his services in spearheading the technical textiles sector revolution in India.

Inaugurated in 1939, the association recognizes professionals who have contributed to the textile science field with awards such as Honorary Membership, Honorary Fellowship, and service awards.

Honorary Membership is the Highest Award bestowed by the association for people who have significantly contributed to the field as well advanced the sector by creating new industrial landscapes. The association has been fortunate to award its highest honor to stalwarts in the industry such as Vikram Sarabhai, Ph.D., who is recognized as the founder of India’s modern space, textile, and management education sectors. Other stalwarts include Kasturbhai Lalbhai of Arvind Industries, and Dhirubhai Ambani of Reliance, a revolutionary leader in the manmade fiber sector in India.

Ramkumar has over two decades of collaborations in India and made strong contributions for the textile sector to be self-reliant in PPE during the COVID-19 crisis.

The Governing Council of The Textile Association (India) made the unanimous decision after its latest meeting. The award will be presented to Ramkumar during the World Textile Conference-3 in Ahmedabad, February 25-26, 2023.


Contact Information

Company: Texas Tech University